0

Beuys & Bike Lower Rhine

Joseph Beuys was born on the Lower Rhine. This is where he grew up, where he met people who left their marks on him, where he found his way to art – and where he often was out and about on his bike, as is typical for people from the Lower Rhine region. Anyone who will get on their bike as well in order to follow the Beuys & Bike cycling route has the opportunity of getting to know the artist and his home more closely in a relaxed manner.

Among other places, the route leads to the Kurhaus Kleve, where cyclists can visit Joseph Beuys’ first studio, to Moyland Castle in Bedburg-Hau, where a great part of the Beuys collection is exhibited, and to Viersen, where works of Beuys’ student Anatol are waiting to be discovered. Between the Beuys stations, other places worth seeing are also beckoning to the traveller. For example, the path leads past calm Kalkar, a town with Gothic-style gabled houses, the large St. Nicolai’s Church, and two towering windmills still bearing witness of past Medieval wealth. Xanten even offers a journey back in time to Ancient Rome, as the Landschaftsverband Rheinland invites to a historical break in the LVR-Archaeological Park Xanten with relics from the Colonia Ulpia Traiana.

Beuys & Bike route from Kleve to Leverkusen

This art-filled cycling tour gets body and mind into motion.

The sprawling landscape of the Lower Rhine in Germany’s west gave Joseph Beuys plenty of space for his ideas. To celebrate his 100th birthday in 2021, the “Beuys & Bike” route is making it possible to experience the man and artist, his ideas and works. Spanning roughly 300 kilometres, the cycling route starts out in Kleve and runs, among other places, through Krefeld, Mönchengladbach, Duisburg, and Düsseldorf, before reaching Leverkusen. It passes stations of Beuys’ life and work, such as the building where he was born, his first studio, the Art Academy, and museums that made his art known early on. Anyone out on their bike on these well-developed paths that are comfortable to ride will not only get to know Joseph Beuys from different angles, but also pass many interesting locations on either side of the Rhine. They may experience a travel through time, from Ancient Rome in Xanten to the post-modernist architecture icon in Mönchengladbach and urban street art at the Rhine in Krefeld. Suggestions on how to spend their well-earned breaks lead to busily-romantic sites such as the old town of Düsseldorf. The Beuys & Bike route is reminiscent of Joseph Beuys, his work, and his power with which he set so many things in motion. It was developed in cooperation with the ADFC tour experts.

Beuys & Bike - Package tours

Museum Schloss Moyland

A PLACE FOR ALL THE SENSES At the Museum Schloss Moyland, art, culture and nature enter into a lively relationship. Special features of the museum include not only its picturesque historic garden and architecture and extensive collection of modern and contemporary art, but also international exhibitions and a broad range of events. The Museum Schloss […]

On the occasion of the 100th birthday of Joseph Beuys (1921-1986), the Museum Kurhaus Kleve is showing a representative selection of its Beuys collection from May 7 to September 5, 2021 in the largest hall of the house, the so-called Wandelhalle. The monumental sculpture of the bathtub (1961/1987), the four-part work Untitled (Mein Kölner Dom), […]

0

Beuys & Bike Niederrhein

Am Niederrhein ist Joseph Beuys geboren worden, aufgewachsen, ist Menschen begegnet, die ihn geprägt haben, hat seinen Weg zur Kunst gefunden – und war oft mit dem Fahrrad unterwegs, was typisch ist für einen Niederrheiner. Wer sich selbst in den Sattel schwingt und der Radroute Beuys & Bike folgt, lernt den Künstler und seine Heimat auf erholsame Art näher kennen.

So führt die Strecke etwa zum Kurhaus Kleve, wo das erste Atelier von Joseph Beuys besucht werden kann, zum Schloss Moyland in Bedburg-Hau, wo ein großer Teil der Sammlung Beuys zu sehen ist sowie nach Viersen, wo Werke des Beuys-Schülers Anatol zu entdecken sind. Zwischen den Beuys-Stationen lohnen andere sehenswerte Orte ebenfalls einen Stopp: So führt der Weg etwa am beschaulichen Städtchen Kalkar vorbei, das mit seinen gotischen Giebelhäusern, der großen Nikolaikirche und zwei mächtigen Windmühlen noch heute vom mittelalterlichen Wohlstand zeugt. In Xanten geht’s sogar auf eine Zeitreise bis ins antike Rom: Im LVR-Archäologischen Park Xanten laden die Relikte der Colonia Ulpia Traiana zu einem historischen Abstecher ein.

Beuys & Bike-Route von Kleve nach Leverkusen

Diese kunstvolle Radtour bringt Körper und Geist in Bewegung.

Die weite niederrheinische Landschaft im Westen Deutschlands hat Joseph Beuys viel Raum für Ideen gegeben. Zur Feier seines 100. Geburtstages 2021 macht die „Beuys & Bike“-Route den Menschen und Künstler, seine Ideen und Werke erfahrbar. Die rund 300 Kilometer lange Radroute führt von Kleve unter anderem durch Krefeld, Mönchengladbach, Duisburg und Düsseldorf nach Leverkusen. Hier stehen die Stationen seines Lebens und Wirkens: sein Geburtshaus, das erste Atelier, die Kunstakademie und Museen, die seine Kunst früh bekannt machten. Wer sich mit dem Fahrrad auf die gut ausgebauten und komfortabel zu fahrenden Wege macht, lernt nicht nur Joseph Beuys aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven kennen, sondern kommt an vielen sehenswerten Orten rechts und links des Rheins vorbei. Zu erleben gibt es eine Zeitreise vom antiken Rom in Xanten über eine postmoderne Architekturikone in Mönchengladbach bis zur urbanen Street Art am Rhein in Krefeld. Vorschläge für die verdiente Rast führen an quirlig-romantische Orte wie die Düsseldorfer Altstadt. Die Beuys & Bike-Route erinnert an Joseph Beuys, an sein Werk und seine Kraft, so vieles in Bewegung zu setzen. Sie entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit den Tourexperten des ADFC.

Museum Schloss Moyland

EIN ORT FÜR ALLE SINNE Im Museum Schloss Moyland gehen Kunst, Kultur und Natur eine lebendige Verbindung ein. Herzstücke des Museums sind neben der malerischen Schloss- und Gartenanlage die Sammlung moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst, internationale Sonderausstellungen und vielfältige Veranstaltungen. Die weltweit größte Sammlung von Werken Joseph Beuys´ ist hier beheimatet. Zusammen mit dem Joseph Beuys […]

© Stiftung Museum Schloss Moyland/Axel Jusseit

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstages von Joseph Beuys (1921-1986) zeigt das Museum Kurhaus Kleve vom 7. Mai bis zum 5. September 2021 im größten Saal des Hauses, der sogenannten Wandelhalle, eine repräsentative Auswahl seiner Beuys-Sammlungsbestände. Zu sehen sein werden etwa die monumentale Skulptur der Badewanne (1961/1987), die vierteilige Arbeit Ohne Titel (Mein Kölner Dom), (1980), ein […]

Fotos im Header © Johannes Höhn